Fear & Loathing in Portland

youtube-Logo-4gc2reddit-logoOff the keyboard of RE

Follow us on Twitter @doomstead666
Friend us on Facebook

Published on the Doomstead Diner on February 15, 2016

https://i2.wp.com/screencrush.com/442/files/2014/01/Fear-and-Loathing-in-Las-Vegas.jpg

Discuss this Article at the Frostbite Falls Table inside the Diner

 

As regular Diners know, I am still in the battle with the bureaucracies and insurance companies on my disability case, and later this morning I will be picked up at the digs by a cab to ship my decrepit ass down to Ted Stevens International  Airport, to be further Air Freighted to Portland for what the lawyers call an "IME", or Independent Medical Exam.  Said IME is paid for by the Insurance company for my old employer, so it's not REALLY independent of course.  ::)

 

 

After recording today's Collapse Cafe with Ugo Bardi, Steve Ludlum and Norman Pagett, I spent most of the rest of the day tidying up the digs and getting my travel bag ready for the expedition out of Alaska and back down to the Lower 48.  All Wrong Insurance doesn't have a local Alaska Neurosurgeon on their payroll, so they need to fork over for the travel and hotel to ship my sorry ass to Portland for this exercise in stupidity, totally unnecessary because all the evidence of merit is in the imaging already.  There is nothing this Pro from Dover could find that isn't in the MRIs, Xrays and CT scans.  However, they still look for ways to delay and to try and weasel out from under the massive medical bills accumulated here to date, along with paying off on the long term repercussions of the injury.

I packed a spartan bag of preps for me, mainly due to all the restrictions the TSA has for what you can carry on these days, and I don't want to wait around the baggage claim area for a bag of preps which in all likelihood I won't need.  Of course, I will be sorry if TSHTF while  I am in Portland and I don't have them, but I'll take the risk on this one.  It's only a 3 day trip, and how much can go wrong in 3 days, right?  :icon_scratch:  Even if there is a Bank Holiday declared on Monday while I am flying, the planes will still probably be flying for my return trip on Wednesday.  So I fully expect to make it back to my digs and am not real worried about this eventuality.

What I will use this free trip for is to get the latest on the air travel experience, since I haven't flown out of here in about 2 years, in fact I think my last trip out of Alaska was for the Diner Convocation in TX in April of 2014.  Also try to get some feel for what is going on in Portland, though I am not renting a car so won't be able to cruise around too freely.  All Wrong Insurance paid for cabs to get me to the IME and back to the hotel, and the hotel provides a shuttle to & from the airport.  So I will mostly be holed up in the hotel room.  Hopefully it is a fairly decent one.

I will broadcast live from the airports if possible, and maybe even while In Flight since these days it is possible to get Wi-Fi while you are in flight on Alaska Airlines.  Not sure on the bandwidth though, so whether it will handle audio and video is an open question.  Check in on the Diner Forum for links to Google Hangouts if you wanna chat while I am On the Road (or In The Air).

This is in theory the last of the hoops I need to jump through before the Workman's Comp case gets resolved.  I don't think there is anything left for All Wrong to use to delay resolution further, and the final hearing date for the case is set for the Ides of March, aka March 15th.  Hopefully, this chapter of my life will be tidied up by then, although I still have an ongoing issue with getting my pension disbursed which may take a few more months.

So, while the World Burns over the next few days, I will not be talking or writing much about that, but rather just doing a diary of my own shit.  If you're interested, drop in on the Diner over the next 3 days.  If not, you can take a break from Doom and go on a Picnic or something.  :icon_sunny:

RE

 

 

 

 

 


Bold Italicized Underline Strikethrough | Preformatted Text Justify Left Align Centered Right Align Float Left Float Right
