The Katrina Chronicles

Off the Keyboard of RE

Discuss this Articlcle at the Geological and Cosmological Events Table inside the Diner

What causes a person to become a DOOMER? When did you receive your Wake Up Call that Industrial Civilization was on a Runaway Train headed for Derailment over the Olduvai Gorge?

Inside the Diner, I generally identify my Wake Up Call as coming with the Failure of Bear Stearns in 2007. It was in the aftermath of that I began researching the Economic issues, which then led me to the Energy issues and then the Population issues. It was during this period I joine the PeakOil.com Forum and became acquainted with concepts like EROEI, and various theories of collapse from people like Joseph Tainter, Richard Duncan and Dmitry Orlov.

Recent activity inside the Diner along with the fact Tropical Storm Isaac is now bearing down on Florida and after that into the GOM has caused me to go back to a Yahoo Group I was running when Katrina made Landfall in NOLA in 2005. I had numerous friends at or near Ground Zero when Katrina hit, and the discussions that we pursued before, dering and int he aftermath of that catastrophe ran into the hundreds if not thousands of posts. I now realize it was not Bear Stearns that took me down the Doomer Highway to begin with, it was KATRINA.

In the interest of maintaining the anonymity of all involved in that posting, I cannot open up that Group for general reading. I can however go back in there and Copy/Paste what was written and strip out any identifying material regarding the posters. I believe much of what was written in that series of discussions is instructive on the nature of collapse, not just as it applied to one Big Shity at Ground Zero in 2005, but to the catastrophe now facing ALL of us who depend on the Conduits of Industrial Life around the globe.

Inside the Diner, I will publish over the next few months as much of this material as I can in the Katrina Chronicles thread. Here below are the very FIRST posts made as Katrina was bearing down on NOLA. Follow the rest inside the Doomstead Diner.

RE

OnlineRE

  • Administrator
  • Outspoken
  • *****
My FIRST Katrina Post, Published on August 28th, 2005.
Quote from: RE

Katrina is bearing down on New Orleans, and it looks like the storm of the century. I have never seen a more perfectly organized and symmetrical cyclonic storm, and besides that it is HUGE. Hurricane force winds extend over a 100 mile radius.
I believe Stacey lives fairly close to Ground Zero. Let’s all keep our fingers crossed for her, DH, Haley, Braxton and Forrest.

I will publish sequentially my Katrina Chronicles in this thread. I will also publish some of what others wrote, stripping their identities out if they are compromising in any way.
The first response:
Quote from: Stacey

Thanks guys :) We are planning on riding out the storm but I’ll probably head to Houston after if we lose power (likely) And don’t forget Peyton :)
DH has to stay close so he can be at the office Tuesday.

MUCH MORE to come. The Katrina Chronicles make Dirdy Birdy’s stuff Cliff Notes by comparison. LOL.
RE//

 


OnlineRE

  • Administrator
  • Outspoken
  • *****
I often say that my Doomerism and Wake Up call to Collapse came with the fall of Bear Stearns in 2007. As I pull back up my Katrina Posting, I realize this is not so. It was Katrina that provided the real Wake Up Call for RE.
Here, the next few posts between myself and a few of my friends who were at or near Ground Zero when Katrina hit.

RE

Quote from: RE

Keep us informed as our Weather Channel Storm Tracker as long as you got an internet connection. Good Luck!
RE

Quote from: Stacey

Thanks!
The rain just started and some wind too. We should be on the west side though so it should not be as bad for us…unless it hits farther west than expected. Keep all those in New Orleans in your thoughts…a lot could die.
As far as internet. If we lose power I can still go on battery power and plug directly to the phone line. I can read and send email on my cell phone too. I just hope our power stays on.
Stacey

Quote from: Melissa

Stacey,
Good Luck to you!!!
I just talked with my dad and step mom a few hours ago. He went to the hospital this morning and was told to bring 2 changes of clotes and not expect to go home until Tues. They are expecting to lose power but probably for less than a week and have 2 generators and probably 10 houseguests from New Orleans. All the bed are full and the couches too. LOL!!! They’ve evacuated the New Orleans hospitals and his is full with their patients. (He’s at Our Lady of the Lake) over by the big Mall. (they live behind it off Perkins) My mom (who lives in N. La. works for social services (manager of the Shreveport welfare office) and her department is all trained to work at the emergency shelters. She thinks several from her office may have to go to Alex to work in them. We have tons of people over here in Houston who evacuated. I’m concernced that many didn’t evacuate. It’s too late now. Many are very poor and elderly and have no way out of the city. My dad was on a conference call (maybe with your hubby…doesn’t he work for FEMA or someone like that) and they said they are expecting a much worse disaster than anyone had imagined. They actually mentioned the possible need for body bags.
I hope y’all have lots of water and food stored up! At least y’all won’t get the worst, but I’m sure y’all will have 100+ wind gusts!!! My step mom is worried that her trees will fall on her house!
Melissa

Quote from: Raquel

There was a man from FEMA on CNN – he really looked sick, said this made him feel sick – there is a huge chance of a significant loss of life from this hurricane! :( I can’t imagine how those feel that had to stay behind.
Raquel

Now the first attack I EVER made on Corporate Oligarchy and how the MSM misreports and misrepresents what actually goes on in this kind of disaster. Diners will recognize the beginnings of themes I have been pursuing for a long time since.
Date of this post: August 29, 2005
Katrina: Merchants of Death in the Corporate Oligarchy

Quote from: RE

I’m watching the CNN reports on the upward spiral of casualty reports from Katrina, and becoming ever more ticked off at the spin being put forth about people who “chose” to “ride out” the storm. As if the fact they died is their own negligence.
The government makes a “mandatory” evacuation order. The people who stayed behind? They had NO WHERE TO GO. Mostly these were poor or middle class people, many who had no transportation out of the area. Even if they owned a Jalopy they could pack the kids and the dog into, just where were they gonna GO? they don’t have the money to spend several days in a hotel far from home. they can’t afford the price of the gas it will take them to get there either.
Now, certainly its reality that the poor and the middle class without resources will always be trapped, but what is tickng me off is the SPIN of the mass media, that this is THEIR fault. They “chose” to ride it out. No, they did not CHOOSE it. They couldn’t afford to get outta Dodge.
Hundreds of people drowned in their attics as the flood waters rose. It could have been you. The mass media will paint that as YOUR fault if you could not get away. Organizations like CNN, NBC and CBS are pawns of a corrupt society and government. They sell a vision of American society which does not exist, they sell a vision of sports which is a lie. The reporters and researchers who work for these organizations are dishonest and corrupt individuals who have sold out to be part of the gravy train of corporate oligarchy.
Become a part of the Corporate Oligarchy and live well in your suburban houses. You are merchants of death, you earn your money and comforts on the pain and suffering and death of those you fool with your lies.
RE

MUCH more to come. The Katrina Story as we all know went on for MONTHS, and I wrote about it nearly every day, sometimes several times a day. My friends contributed many thoughts also. It is hundreds if not thousands of pages I am sure. I will try to reproduce as much as I can without compromising Identities.
RE//

Leave a Reply

