Jack of All Trades.

This post will mostly be about being a ‘Jack of All Trades’ but it relates to intuition which was covered by a recent post here so I’ll stick it here for now.

It will ramble for a bit first to explain how I came to the realizations I did.

As I’ve mentioned before I am an ‘un-educated’, man. I left school and home at 14 with only a middle school education. I left school because I felt it was making me dumber instead of smarter. My parents then told me they wouldn’t support me if I didn’t go to school so I set out to explore the world. In the early years I hitchhiked around Canada taking odd jobs whenever I needed to.

I worked at a lot of different jobs and got into a lot of amazing situations that gave me much insight about the many different realities people live in.

A few highlights…. I worked in the oil patch early on. To start with I was too young even to be a roughneck but I was hired to do the dirty work of scraping, cleaning and painting stuff. I worked on both large rigs with remote camps and smaller portable rigs that moved often and sheltered in the closest small prairie town. I worked as a welders helper on pipelines, a grave digger, lived and worked with a bunch of native truck drivers in the northernmost reaches of Canada and visited communities in the far north that had no roads to them where people had never seen a paved road or multistory building.

I worked with an elite survey crew that surveyed the boundary between Canada & The USA on the Great Lakes and between Alaska and the Yukon. I worked for the Federal Government on a project that Conspiracy Theorists call, “The Grand Canal”, which both the Canadian & US government deny exists. They have been quietly working away at it for many decades.

I shared an apartment in Ottawa with a senators son, where Pierre Trudeau used to party before he became Prime Minister of Canada. I got to see their lifestyle from the inside.

While in Ottawa I took nightschool to get grade 12 equivalent and then took a couple of semesters of business administration. I eventually quit because I couldn’t stand being around the other students who were mostly a bunch of self-centered egotistical party animals.

I worked for the BC Forest Service for a number of years as a dispatcher, truck driver fixing remote roads, and fire lookout man where I would spend months at a time on top of a mountain by myself. Much of the time was spent living in bunkhouses in FS camps.

I found that virtually all of the wide variety of work and living environments I experienced were devastating to humans both creatively and emotionally. With very rare exceptions everyone I met was self-centered with blinders on that only allowed them to see a very narrow perspective of life centered on the particular function they performed for society. The government cultures were the very worst. There was little to no tolerance for ideas or actions that varied from edicts from above in the hierarchy of government power.

I really enjoyed most of the jobs I took on but mostly couldn’t stand the social environment. The social environments I felt most comfortable in were invariably the ones that had minimal connection with our civilization. I spent a lot of time thinking about why that was and came to the conclusion that our schooling isn’t the only culprit in creating a destructive social environment. I realized that the mass media was the largest culprit in creating destructive behavior in our civilization. Living among simple people without massive media consumption convinced me that people aren’t inherently evil or destructive and that such behavior is induced through education and media consumption.

To this day I remember when this realization struck me. I was working in remote northern Ontario with a survey crew based out of Ottawa which hired a lot of local natives to do the heavy work. I couldn’t stand the social life in the camp with the surveyors and chose to instead hang out with the natives. This resulted in being invited to their remote reserve during days off. The wife of one of the workers was highly thought of within the community and also the keeper of the library. They were all proud about being able to read. She soon took me to the community library to proudly display it’s content. I was shocked when I discovered it was all things like Mickey Spillaine detective stories and romances. I flashed, “no wonder we are all so fucked up”. In Civilization our libraries have greater variety but the vast majority of the information that enters our lives comes from the mass media and it is almost exclusively destructive crap.

I got to the point where I simply couldn’t stand working within the hierarchies associated with ‘normal’ jobs. I decided to strike out on my own. I decided the most important thing I could do with my life is to try to counter the destructive content I saw being introduced by the MSM. I decided to do this by taking content from the remnants of the simpler less destructive lifestyles I had found and produce media content promoting those values which I felt would create a better living environment. This attempt is a very long story that spanned over 14 years but I will now get back to the main point about what it takes to be a ‘Jack of All Trades’ (JOAT). The answer will surprise you as much as it did me. It is only in the last few years that I have been able to grasp what occurred. At the time I just did what my intuition told me to do without understanding why.

One would naturally assume that to be a JOAT would require many different skills. Granted this helps but it is not essential. All that is required to be a JOAT is one skill which unfortunately is drummed out of us by our schooling so that we are more easily integrated into the hierarchical structure that defines our society.

In a hierarchy like ours it is more important for it’s survival that people follow orders reliably than for them to think creatively or widely. We are taught to solve problems by referring to edicts from acknowledged ‘experts’ in the applicable field. Hierarchies depend on things being done ‘their’ way. Having a list of ‘approved’ solutions assures this.

A JOAT takes a totally different approach to solving problems. Regardless of the content of the situation the process is always the same. First assess how the problem item interacts with it’s environment, which is a type of intuition, or, thinking for yourself to solve problems instead of relying on expert outside information/advice for a solution. (Is this why women are often thought of as more intuitive? Do they think for themselves more than men do?) In problems there are usually enough clues for anyone to come to realize what is going wrong using deductive reasoning. Traditional workers can usually apply this type of reasoning to the particular task they have been trained for but unfortunately their schooling has also taught them that it is wrong, or beneath them, to apply the same type of reasoning to tasks they haven’t been trained for. “Do only what you have been taught to do and leave the rest to those who have expertise that you don’t have.” TRUST THE EXPERTS! DON’T think for yourself outside YOUR area of training/specialization!

I have been astounded many times by very intelligent people with great skill in one area that ask me to do simple things like screw an item to a wall because they think they are incapable of doing it correctly themselves.

There is a lot of very important psychology behind this phenomena but this post is already too long so discussing it will need to wait.

Discuss this post inside the diner.

Leave a Reply

