I Want It All

Discuss this post at the Kitchen Sink in the Diner

Adventure seeker on an empty street,
Just an alley creeper, light on his feet
A young fighter screaming, with no time for doubt
With the pain and anger can’t see a way out,
It ain’t much I’m asking, I heard him say,
Gotta find me a future move out of my way,
I want it all, I want it all, I want it all, and I want it now,
I want it all, I want it all, I want it all, and I want it now,

Listen all you people, come gather round
I gotta get me a game plan, gotta shake you to the ground
Just give me what I know is mine,
People do you hear me, just give me the sign,
It ain’t much I’m asking, if you want the truth
Here’s to the future for the dreams of youth,
I want it all, I want it all, I want it all, and I want it now,
I want it all, I want it all, I want it all, and I want it now,

I’m a man with a one track mind,
So much to do in one life time
(people do you hear me)
Not a man for compromise and where’s and why’s and living lies
So I’m living it all, yes I’m living it all,
And I’m giving it all, and I’m giving it all,
It ain’t much I’m asking, if you want the truth,
Here’s to the future, hear the cry of youth,
I want it all, I want it all, I want it all, and I want it now

I Want it All

Tribute to Freddie Mercury

Roger Daltry, Tony Iommi & Queen

 

Kids just want to be kids. I know, I’m still a kid. I want a decent job, lots

of free time and enough left over to go on a few vacations every year. That’s

the kid in me. On the other hand, any job I could possibly find, including this

one feels like an epic waste of time. 9-5 punching buttons to what end?

-Ross

 

To what end indeed? 30 years ago there was another young man working on Wall

Street who asked himself these questions. That young man is long gone now, but

he remembers the yearnings. And then when I pull up a 20 year old video of Roger

Daltry, still pretty much in his prime after 30 years as a Rocker singing the

anthem written by the then dead Freddie Mercury, the contradictions and futility

of the dreams of youth inspired by the seemingly limitless wealth of the Age of

Oil all come rushing back to me.

 

Money, Youth, Beauty held up as God for the last 70 years, though certainly

the last 30 took it up a few notches. You can see the beginnings of it though

already in the films of the 1940s with starlets like Lana Turner and Crooners

like the young Frank Sinatra.

Of course not everybody could become a Rock Star or Film Idol, but everybody

could be rich or at least LOOK like they were rich and act like they were.

Everybody could have the Fast Car, the cool Motorcycle, the Color TV. Eventually

everybody could have the IPhone4, the Plasma TV and the 10,000 square foot

McMansion. This was the Myth of course, not the truth. Bit by bit its been

decaying, to the point now where the Idols are cardboard thin cuttouts like Kim

Kardashian, famous merely for being famous. The Rich and Powerful no longer seem

virtuous, they seem venal and vacant. Those seduced by the dream see it

crumbling around themselves, their McMansions in foreclosure, the high paying IT

job they trained for shipped of to a low paid Geek in India.

 

When you are 17 or 25 though, you want it ALL. Know why you want it all? Its

not because that is the normal state of human being at this stage of your life

or any other for that matter. Its because you are CONDITIONED to want it all.

From the very first Richie Rich Comic Book to the images of screaming Groupies

fainting when Elvis the Pelvis swivels his hips, this is what you are

conditioned to want.

Its a very hard thing to let go of that WANTING. Just breaking through the

conditioning is hard enough, but past that you have the Peer Pressure and pure

survival problems to try to live any other way than this when the whole culture,

the whole society and in fact pretty much the whole GLOBE got caught up in the

snare as this culture marched its way around the Globe. You know who wants it

MOST? Those poor slobs in China and Iran whose countries got on the bandwagon a

Day Late and a Yuan Short here. They’re going to be mighty disappointed, and so

is the Millenial Generation here in the good old FSofA. They’re not the only

ones who will be disappointed though, so will the Boomers who expected they

would get the same kind of Florida Retirement condos on the 18th Green of a Jack

Nicklaus designed Golf Course the Silents got.

It’s not all gone yet though, at least not here in the land of Good &

Plenty. If you have the money for it, might as well buy the IPhone. Well, at

least if you already bought yourself a nice Gerber Survival Knife that will last

you a while after the IPhone is just a Paperweight.

Take the nice Vacation if you can afford it. Its not any different than when

I take myself out to a Restaraunt to have an overpriced Japanese meal. This

stuff ain’t gonna last, so enjoy it now for a bit longer while you still

can.

 

Along with the nice vacation though, perhaps you Alternate such Bacchanalian

delight with another Vacation a bit more in line with what the future holds. Go

out there with a pack on your back into the Wilderness, take with you the Atlatl

and Fire Piston you purchased on the Net and practice a bit. When you get out

there, see if you can at least bust up a rock well enough to make a crude Hand

Axe and chop down a sapling with it. You are highly unlikely to be caught by a

Park Ranger doing this. Will this “Vacation” be as comfy as the one you took on

the beaches of Costa Rica? No, but it will be a lot less boring and you’ll come

back from it with maybe just a bit more confidence in yourself then you had

before.

Next Vacation, if the world hasn’t yet gone to Hell in Handbasket, go

ahead and Fly First Class to a Ski Resort in Jackson Hole and take a Helicopter

ride to ski the Deep Powder on Carbon Fiber Skis, then fly back to have a Surf

& Turf Dinner of Maine Lobster and Filet Mignon with a bottle or two of

French Cabernet Sauvignon. So what if it costs you $200 for dinner? Its only

Money.

Have it All. At least for another Moment or two before it is all GONE. Then,

assuming you make it through the Zero Point, 30 years from now you can sit

around the campfire with the Young’uns and tell them some stories of how it once

was. They won’t believe you of course, and then you can get down to the Bizness

of figuring out how to do a better job with a piece of Rock then that first Hand

Axe you made on a Vacation into the back woods of Wisconson.

RE

Discuss this post at the Kitchen Sink in the Diner

Leave a Reply

